It was 10:40 at night when I received a ping from the Fleet app; upon fully viewing the details of the order, I read the following note, it said, turn down the gravel road and go all the way to end, there is a gate on the right. Go through it and go to the barn.

There is absolutely nothing unusual about this delivery request, is there? Anyway, I am horrible at following instructions.  It’s not so much that I am horrible at following instructions, in that, I usually do not take the time to read nor care to actually follow them. However, as a Postmates courier, following instructions is an essential component of the service.

It was the last delivery of the night, I know it seems like all things rideshare starts this way but it’s the truth. And this was the third trip of the night to the same restaurant. The final destination was somewhere off Mountain’s Edge. Just as the name implies the development is built right to the edge of a mountain. Well…..let’s provide some context. It’s not a mountain…mountain as you’re often apt to visualize. It’s larger than a mole hill but not anything close to let’s say Mt. Everest or Kilimanjaro. A more apropos name might have been Hill’s Edge but why admit that something’s a hill when you can refer to it as a mountain. The development name is neither here nor there unless you actually know what I am referencing. My point being that as I drive out to Mountain’s Edge which has been in existence for years now, yet is still poorly lit, I approach the destination and there is no light. When I say, there is no light, I mean no light as if, even the moon refused to have light shone on it. As I slowly turn down the gravel road, I pass a gate and proceed farther into the darkness before finally stopping at the end of the gate.

It is so dark it seems as if I have driven into an underground tunnel. Fumbling around in the darkness, I attempt to turn on the flashlight feature of my phone to provide some luminescence. While the phone light did the best it could to provide some light it, it was meaningless. The flashlight feature on the phone would be analogous to attempting to start a fire in the desert with only rocks and dirt around you. Sure, you could take all the money out of your wallet and set it ablaze but it’s not going to provide any warmth and when rescuers find you, you’ll still be cold and now broke. Honestly, I know the plot of this horror feature, the black person always dies first and I keep this in the forefront of my mind. So just like any unwilling victim in a horror movie, I did the next best thing; no, I didn’t leave. I called my friend Val on the phone and let her know of my impending death. She said to be careful and I planned to be up until the point of being chopped up or buried alive.

I could hear the animals stirring about as I approached the gate but in the spirit of full disclosure, I should let you know the animals I’m referencing were horses. This fact, placed me somewhat at ease, since as far as I am aware, horses aren’t known for eating and disposing of dead bodies. Then, Val tells me to turn on my bright lights in the car which sounds even better because at least I would be in my car and out of harm’s way. Quickly, I hop back into my car and proceed to drive back down the little gravel road. On my way, back, I see a very frustrated man draped over the first fence I decided to bypass in order to drive into the abyss.  Quickly, I hopped out of the car and gave him his sushi, closed the app and headed home. After all, it had been a very uneventful night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

